The Power of Love

I had lunch with my friend Jennifer yesterday. While we were eating our sandwiches, she was filling me in on everything that’s been going on in her life over the past year. While the words all made sense, the way she was saying them indicated that something wasn’t quite right.

I finally asked her what was wrong.

“It’s Katie,” she said sadly. Katie is her seventeen year daughter. “She’s been a bit of a challenge lately.”

Jennifer told me about Katie getting her driver’s license, then immediately getting three speeding tickets. She had her license suspended. She told me about the friends she’s been hanging out with—not exactly good influences. And she told me about Katie’s drinking.

“I’m at my wit’s end. We are constantly fighting. The other day she screamed at me and threw her math book at me. The more I discipline her, the tougher things get.”

I could hear the sadness in her voice and see the desperation in her eyes. Then Jennifer looked up at me and smiled.

“But I love her. She’s my daughter. I would do anything for her.”

I knew, at that moment, that Jennifer loved Katie without limits. That is not an easy thing to do, especially when a text book is flying toward your face.

As I drove home from lunch, I thought about Jennifer and Katie. And then, I thought about God.

We all have Katie moments in our lives. We all do things that our Father would not necessarily approve of. We all do things that God might just look at us and say, “Come on, really? You’re better than that.”

But God loves us. Without limits. He wants to protect us and guide us, and he wants us to live a life full of passion. He allows us to keep coming back to him, even after we make a mess of things.

Jennifer will continue to struggle, but as long as she has love and God on her side, she will find a way to break through to Katie.

As for me, this lunch made me think:

Why would I ever want to betray God’s trust? Why would I ever want to disappoint my Father?

Share your thoughts...

