Lord, What is it I Need to Hear Today?

This last weekend, I had the opportunity to take a two hour journey by car, all by myself. A blessed two hours of solitude to enjoy the sun, the burgeoning autumn colors, and the radio.

Once the radio station I was listening to started filling with static, I switched to Relevant Radio. I am so glad I did because I stumbled upon Matthew Kelly! If you have never had the pleasure of listening to or reading anything by Matthew Kelly, you’ve been missing out. Dare I say he is a modern day prophet?

I caught a portion of his presentation on the seven pillars of Catholicism. He shared a beautiful story that allows our human minds the opportunity to comprehend the significance of the Mass from God’s perspective. It was a really cool story. What I liked even more was how he encouraged the audience, myself included, to go into Mass asking God this question, “Lord, what is it that I need to hear today in order to be the best version of myself this week?” Since I had not yet been to Mass, I thought to myself that I would give it a try.

I entered Mass thinking the Matthew Kelly question and allowed myself to be open to every word said and sung. Low and behold, there it was! The nugget that hit me right where God needed me to pay attention – the second reading from Philippians 4: 6-9:

Have no anxiety at all, but in everything, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, make your requests known to God. Then the peace of God that surpasses all understanding will guard your hearts and minds in Christ Jesus. Finally, brothers, whatever is true, whatever is honorable, whatever is just, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is gracious, if there is any excellence and if there is anything worthy of praise think about these things. Keep on doing what you have learned and received and heard and seen in me. Then the God of peace will be with you.

God knew what was on my heart and in my head. He knows I always worry about whether or not I am being the best mother, wife, teacher, leader, and servant He has created me to be. Now you can see how glorious this moment was for me. If you are going to Mass passively, try going in with the Matthew Kelly question. I’d love to learn if it worked for you the way it worked for me.

 

 

Jill Fischer is the Principal of St. Dominic Catholic School.

 

One thought on “Lord, What is it I Need to Hear Today?

  1. Thanks Jill, I have been using the Mass Journal since Matthew Kelly was here. Although I don’t write something every week, there have been many times I have taken something from the Mass. I pray on it during the week and hopefully this helps me to be a “better version of myself”.

    Like

Share your thoughts...

