God is Good

I have the pleasure to visit a home away from home “up north” frequently throughout the year thanks to my husband’s family. Labor Day weekend is always a guaranteed trip “up north” – guaranteed for 12 people. Twelve people existing for three nights and three days in a three bedroom mobile home on an acre of woods.

As you can imagine, interesting things are bound to take place and they usually do. That is part of the joy of going “up north.”

This Labor Day was no different. But for some reason, this weekend everything was hitting me wrong. I found myself annoyed by things that don’t normally annoy me. I was on edge much of the day on Saturday, which could have been the lack of escape that a rainy day creates. In going to Mass on Sunday morning, I did so carrying the annoyance with me. At Mass, I laid it down before the altar. Now, if you haven’t ever approached the Mass in this way, you are missing the beauty the Mass can hold. The Mass can start to speak to you right where you need it to.

Everything about this Mass celebration spoke to unburdening yourself to God. It was so amazing that I nearly cried. I wanted to cry because I felt such consolation and relief, as well as God’s overwhelming love for me in such a way that I could go back to that mobile home and be a better version of myself for the people around me.

Every day is labor day for our Lord. He labors tirelessly for us and with us and through us. He does so out of great and overwhelming love for us. We often forget that He is there but it was times like the one I experienced this weekend that brings it right back home for me.

Lord, I am not worthy that you should enter under my roof, but only say the word and my soul shall be healed. We are certainly worthy of His love but are we ever really worthy of Him?

God is good, all the time. All the time, God is good.

 

Jill Fischer is the Principal of St. Dominic Catholic School.

 

Share your thoughts...

