The Moments of Our Lives

The other day I stopped to put gas in my car. It was an overcast afternoon, and as I got out of the car, the wind began to pick up. Within a matter of seconds, a hard, driving rain soaked everyone and everything in sight.

It was over in a matter of thirty seconds, but I was drenched from head to toe. It was like someone dumped a bucket of water on me.

I got back in my car and headed home. I turned on my heater and wiped the rain from my face. Then… the weather instantly changed again. The sun popped out from the clouds and lit up the sky.

And that’s when I saw it: a double rainbow.

It was magnificent, and it rose majestically from the ground up into the sky. Cars pulled off the road to stare and take photos. I was in awe.

If I continued to obsess about being rain-soaked, I could have easily missed this moment. Instead, I joined the off-road crowd and quickly thanked God for the spectacular beauty of the moment.

How many times have you faced rain in your life? How many times have been soaked from head to toe?

We’ve all been there.

But God knows that without the rain, there is no rainbow.

Life is about moments…both good and bad. What do we learn? How can these moments shape us into better people? How do we learn to appreciate these moments?

You may have a defining moment happening right now, but you’ve missed it because of other distractions.

This month, theROCK is focused on what we can do to savor the moments of our lives.

Share your thoughts...

